National Motor Freight Classification (NMFC)

The National Motor Freight Classification (NMFC) is a system that provides descriptions and classifications of commodities and rules for domestic movement by motor carriers in the United States. The NMFC is published by the National Motor Freight Traffic Association, Inc. (NMFTA).

The NMFC is used by freight carriers to rate shipments of goods. It contains 18 commodity classes, which are divided into five pricing levels based on transportation characteristics such as:

  • density,
  • stowability,
  • handling,
  • and liability.

Shipments are rated according to the commodity class that best describes them. The higher the class, the higher the shipping rate.

  • Commodity classes range from 50 to 500.
  • Class 50 is reserved for low-density, high-value commodities.
  • While class 500 is for extremely dense commodities that are difficult to handle and have a low value.

The National Motor Freight Classification (NMFC) is an important tool for logistics professionals. It provides a way to consistently classify and price shipments of goods. When shipping goods, it is important to choose the correct commodity class to ensure that your shipment is priced correctly.

Related Links

National Motor Freight Classification

Related Videos