What is the Certified Master Logistician (CML) Program?

If you’re a supply chain manager or logistician who has been in the field for quite some time, you might be wondering which certifications you can earn in order to advance your career. After gaining significant experience in the field, those with broad and extensive experience in logistics can apply for a Certified Master Logistician (CML) certification through the International Society of Logistics (SOLE).

This professional credential can be earned with a combination of work experience and the passing of a standardized exam. It recognizes the broad achievements and knowledge gained by those in the logistics chain supply field, regardless of their roles. This test, administered by the Certified Professional Logistician Qualification Review Board (CPL-QRB), is less specific in nature than the Certified Professional Logistician (CPL) certification.

What’s the Purpose of a Certified Master Logistician Certification?

The CML certification is different from the Certified Professional Logistician (CPL) certification because it tests on a broader base of knowledge, while the CPL focuses on more specific aspects of logistics. This is another certification that stands out in the field of logistics and offers you a prominent credential, proving your competence and mastery of supply chain management.

Those who successfully pass the required test receive an official certificate, which they can display, and they are allowed to use the suffix “CML” after their name on professional materials such as business cards and stationery. This may help logisticians advance to higher positions, gain respect and earn higher salaries.

CML Eligibility Requirements

Those who wish to take the test and earn their CML need advanced experience in the logistics field, totaling eight years of professional experience, two of which should focus in two or more fields of logistics. The experience focus for this credential emphasizes a background in multiple fields.

Educational achievements may be counted toward experience, with each year counting as a year of professional experience (up to four years). The standard guidelines for required experience and education are as follows:

  • Bachelor’s degree plus five years professional experience
  • Master’s degree plus four years professional experience
  • Doctoral degree plus three years professional experience

What’s on the CML Test?

The CML exam consists of three major parts, which must be completed in a six-hour time span. The three areas covered are:

  • Systems Management
  • Distribution and Customer Support
  • Case study application of the first two parts

Each area tested covers a broad range of topics, which require major experience. An applicant must pass all three sections of the exam in order to be awarded their CML. If only two parts are passed, the applicant may retake the third portion. If only one or no sections are passed, the entire exam must be retaken.

Application Guidelines and Exam Dates

CML exams take place twice a year, on the first Saturday of May and November. All applications must be postmarked by the preceding February 1st for the May exam and August 1st for the November exam. The cost of registration is $125 for members of SOLE and $275 for non-members. For those who wish to retake portions of the exam, a fee of $50 is required.

Applicants must fill out a paper application, complete with descriptions of work experience, references and any applicable academic transcripts. All will be verified by SOLE before an application is accepted.

For More Information

If you’re interested in taking the CML exam, visit the SOLE website to find further information, such as application materials, instructions and a study guide for the exam. The process for earning your CML is straightforward and simply laid out on the website.

Popular SCM Programs

Search Supply Chain Management Programs by State: